Sydney, Opera House, La Bohème, Januar – März 2019

Januar 2, 2019 by  
Filed under Oper, Opera House Sydney, Premieren, Pressemeldung

sydney_logo.jpg

Sydney / Opera House © IOCO

Sydney / Opera House © IOCO

La Bohème

The original bohemian love story, set among the fishnets and fairy lights of 1930s Berlin.In the Joan Sutherland Theatre  In Italian with English and Simplified Chinese surtitles | Audio loop available & wheelchair accessible | No language barrier

The original bohemian love story, set amongst the fishnets and fairy lights of 1930s.

A poet, a painter, a musician and a philosopher walk into a bar to celebrate a sudden windfall in a lean winter. It’s Christmas Eve, and the poet has just felt the first pangs of great love. When a seamstress knocks on his door searching for candlelight, the pair fall in love faster than she can sing “Yes, they call me Mimì…”Between the ideals of love and art and the cruel realities of cold winters, bitter jealousies and empty pockets, two sets of lovers are trying to find their way.

By the time the curtain comes down, you’ll know the answer to an eternal question: is love enough?

See it if you like: devastating love stories, gorgeous costumes and impressive sets, the musical RENT, or Moulin Rouge.


Creative Team


Conductor : Benjamin Northey (Dec 31–Jan 12) / Nicholas Milton (Jan 17–Feb 8) / Dane Lam (from 16 Mar)
Director Gale Edwards
Revival Director Hugh Halliday
Set Designer Brian Thomson
Costume Designer Julie Lynch
Lighting Designer John Rayment
Assistant Director Liesel Badorrek


Artist Information


Mimì : 
Joyce El-Khoury
(Dec 31; Jan 3, 5, 8, 10, 12, 17, 19)
Maija Kovalevska
(Jan 2, 4, 9, 11, 21, 23, 31; Feb 2-8; Mar 16-28)
Rodolfo : 
Ivan Magrì
(Dec 31; Jan 3, 5, 8, 10, 12, 17, 19)
Diego Torre
(Jan 2, 4, 9, 11, 21, 23, 31; Feb 2-8; Mar 16-28)
Musetta : 
Anna Princeva
(Dec 31; Jan 3, 5, 8, 10, 12, 17, 19, 21, 23)
Julie Lea Goodwin
(Jan 2, 4, 9, 11, 31; Feb 2-8)
Lorina Gore
(from Mar 16)
Marcello : 
Samuel Dundas
(Dec 31; Jan 3, 5, 8, 10, 12, 17, 19, 21, 23)
Luke Gabbedy
(Jan 2, 4, 9, 11, 31; Feb 2-8; Mar 16-28)
Schaunard Shane Lowrencev
Colline : 
Taras Berezhansky
(2-12 Jan)
David Parkin
(17 Jan-28 March)
Benoît Graeme Macfarlane
Alcindoro Adrian Tamburini
Officer Clifford Plumpton
Sergeant Malcolm Ede
Parpignol :
Nara Lee (until Jan 12)
Benjamin Rasheed (from Jan 17)

Opera Australia Chorus
Opera Australia Children’s Chorus
Opera Australia Orchestra


Season runs from Wednesday 2 January to Thursday 28 March 2019


Wednesday 2 January 7:30pm
Thursday 3 January 7:30pm
Friday 4 January 7:30pm
Saturday 5 January 7:30pm

Tuesday 8 January 7:30pm
Wednesday 9 January 7:30pm
Thursday 10 January 7:30pm
Friday 11 January 7:30pm
Saturday 12 January 7:30pm

Thursday 17 January 7:30pm
Saturday 19 January 7:30pm

Monday 21 January 7:30pm
Wednesday 23 January 7:30pm

Thursday 31 January 7:30pm
Saturday 2 February 7.30pm

Tuesday 5 February 7:30pm
Friday 8 February 7:30pm

Saturday 16 March 1:00pm

Wednesday 20 March 7.30pm
Friday 22 March 7.30pm

Monday 25 March 7.30pm
Thursday 28 March 7.30pm

–| Pressemeldung Sydney Opera House |—

ioco-art

Februar 14, 2013 by  
Filed under